#SPFBO6 Interview – Jamie Edmundson

Welcome to Lavender Lass Books, Jamie. Thank you for agreeing to this interview and best of luck in the competition!

Og-Grim-Dog: The Three Headed Ogre is the first book in the Me Three series.  Here’s the blurb:

Two heads are better than one

Three can be a real pain in the arse

We are Og-Grim-Dog!

We have been loved and reviled! We have been the Hero of the Hour, the Darkest Villain, and everything in between! We have saved this world and travelled to worlds beyond it!

You think you can distil the life of Og-Grim-Dog into some words on a page?

When a stranger visits their inn, the regulars are in for a surprise. Did their Landlord really come here from Gal’azu—the dangerous, edgier province to the east? Could it be that his stories, so fanciful and fantastical, were episodes from his previous life?

When their Landlord is persuaded to have his life story recorded for posterity, the surprises come thick and fast. Just like his regulars, you too can learn how a three-headed ogre came to be a hero. Unlike them, you don’t stand to be killed if it all goes wrong…

Series Release Schedule

Book 1 Og-Grim-Dog: The Three-Headed Ogre June 15th 2020

Book 2 Og-Grim-Dog and The Dark Lord July 6th 2020

Book 3 Og-Grim-Dog and The War of The Dead September 7th 2020

Book 4 Og-Grim-Dog: Ogre’s End Game October 2020

Perfect for fans of Drew Hayes, J Zachary Pike, LG Estrella and Kevin Hearne & Delilah S Dawson, start this adventure today!

And now to the interview:

1. Is this your first time entering #SPFBO? Why did you decide to enter this book?
My first time was 2017 with my debut novel Toric’s Dagger. I was completely new to the fantasy scene then and SPFBO was a great way to plug in to the community and begin to befriend other writers and such. It really was an exciting time and ever since I’ve been looking forward to re-entering.

2. Why do you write in the fantasy genre? What make this genre particularly appealing to you?
I’ve read in the genre from a young age and for a long time wanted to write my own version of the books I loved. I also have a love of history and I enjoy the combination of the structure and ideas in history with the escapism of fantasy. I also like to write about people hitting each other with swords, so…that limits my options a little.

3. Why did you decide to self-publish?
I did begin the process of going the traditional route but it became apparent that there was no certainty of success doing that. Meanwhile, self-publishing allowed me to learn my craft and make the career change from teaching more quickly. I had books I wanted out there and I’d waited long enough! Once I began researching the self-publishing process, it became increasingly clear that it was the best option for me.

4. Are there advantages to self-publishing? What about the challenges?
Without a doubt there are advantages. You learn more about the whole business which can make you a better writer. You are in effect running your own business – you are in control. That is very appealing to me.

The challenges can be huge. I really started from scratch with no insider contacts. By the time I started the market had already become quite saturated – everyone was doing it. It’s hard these days to get eyes on your books. You have to spend a lot of time and a not inconsiderable amount of money on the marketing side of things, which is not everyone’s cup of tea. It can also be a lonely job at times – I don’t live in an area with a lot of other writers and so I’ve had to work on making contacts online. I only attended my first conference last October in Bristol and it was lovely to meet people in the flesh!

5. As a reader, and now author, how has the fantasy genre changed over the last several years? How has it stayed the same?
It feels like the pace of change is really quite fast now. It’s noticeable to me how many sub-genres there are and how quickly new genres like gamelit can emerge. If you’re writing long epic fantasy series like my first, during which time I was also teaching, things can move on quite a lot between starting and finishing a series!

That said, the fundamentals of stories haven’t changed: characters, worldbuilding & plot. And the influence of the greats of the genre, like Lord of the Rings, are still as front and centre as they ever were.

6. Do you write (or plan to write) in any other genres?
I’d like to write historical fiction.

7. What do you look for in a story? Especially in the fantasy genre? (Original ideas, plot lines, character development, world building, etc.?)
Characters and a setting need to feel believable for me to enjoy a book. That may sound strange in a fantasy fan, but the best fantasy writers can create worlds strong enough for you to suspend your disbelief. I’m a sucker for large casts and a complex plot – if it’s a single character story, that character had better be pretty special. I like there to be a real sense of peril – if a character is super-powered and invincible where’s the tension? That requires some work on the author’s part if their MC is a magic-wielding chosen one. I also love it when an author has pulled off something original and surprising and done a great job with all the other elements of the story – but then, who doesn’t like that?

8. Are you working on a new book? Can you share any details?
My entry in this year’s SPFBO is the first in a new series, Me Three. I hope to release book 2, Og-Grim-Dog and the Dark Lord, shortly and am currently doing the final work on that. As you can probably guess, that one pokes a bit of fun at some of the Dark Lord tropes within fantasy. My current wip is Book 3, Og-Grim-Dog and The War of The Dead. Yep, zombies.

9. Do you have any advice you would offer to writers who plan to self-publish in the fantasy genre?
Keep writing. Do your research online – there is lots of free advice available these days. Of course, at some point you have to make the jump and hit publish – you learn lots by doing it and it’s hard to get your head round all the theoretical stuff until you actually do it. You’re not going to be on top of everything at once – unless you are, and if so, well done you. Smarty pants. Manage your expectations with your first release. Most writers I know grew their career and reach over time rather than all at once. Unless you smash it out of the park and sell a million in your first month. If so, well done you. Not sure I like you very much.

You can get Jamie Edmundson’s book on Amazon!  https://www.amazon.com/Og-Grim-Dog-Three-Headed-Humorous-Fantasy-Adventure-ebook/dp/B08955G2BP

og-grim-dog cover